h1

Extraordinary Sentimental Journey

February 14, 2015

OLD VALENTINE

It all begin with the stroke of ink

on a piece of paper that was so unique

The words of love never rang so true

The sentimental journey betwixt us two

The calling that I answered was very strong

the path that lead me was winding, and long

Each step that I took was a lesson in my life

that showed me the way to live life without strife.

Our hearts will always beat as one

its my love that you’ve won

Love has loved from the beginning of time

And my feelings I cannot hide

These words flow with love pure and true

You’re the joy of my life, and my sunshine

Please my darling, be my forever Valentine.

The custom of sending Valentines is hundreds of years old. The earliest known Valentine was sent in Norfolk in 1477, in the form of a letter from Margery Brews to John Paston, whom she described as ‘my right well beloved Valentine’.

Printed Valentines began to appear in the late eighteenth century. With the improvement in postal services and printing methods in the nineteenth century, Valentine’s Day was celebrated as never before.

By the 1830s, Valentines were sent in such great numbers that postmen were given a special allowance for refreshments to help them through the extraordinary exertions of the two or three days leading up to February 14th.

2 comments

  1. lovely & moving~


  2. Thank you, Cindy! Happy Valentines Day! ❤



Leave a Reply

