h1

Chalk It Up To Love

March 13, 2016

Chalk it up to love

 

I walked across the street today to see if the rain washed the words away

And, no matter how many times its rained since  that day

I love you …stayed anyway

I got down on my knees and tried to scrub it off

But, then kids came running down the block

They stopped in their tracks with their chalk in hand

And, said …excuse me ma’am…

Why do you come here day after day, and get on your knee’s and pray everyday?

With the tears running down my face… I quickly wiped them away without a trace

I went to get up, because I couldn’t speak and pretended something got in my eye

Then, a little boy handed me a peace of chalk and said…

Lady, please draw us what love looks like below your words

I  took the chalk  and I drew a bleeding heart and my hands were shaking like a leaf

He put his hand on my shoulder, and said,” ma’am I understand your grief.”  So, please don’t cry

My mother lost the love of her life and their child , but love never dies.

She struggled to her feet while reaching for a hug out of relief.

And, he was gone.

She knew at that moment love does go on forever and her grief subsided

Even though their worlds were divided.

Cheryl Ann Elliott-Fletcher

2 comments

  1. This is really beautiful! Really heart provoking


    • Well, thank you so much! 😀



Leave a Reply

